27 September, 2008

Last race SC: Eklund 8th

report from http://www.rallycross.de/:

Before Strängnäs five drivers in Division 1 were still able to obtain the title of '2008 Swedish Rallycross Champion in Division 1'. Michael Jernberg (Škoda Fabia) was on top of the standings with 108 points. Five points ahead of Andréas Eriksson (Ford Fiesta ST) who counted 103 points. Also Stig-Olov Walfridsson (Renault Clio RS CR1N) with 99 points, Tony Croon (Ford Focus) with 97 points and Per Eklund (SAAB 9-3 SportSedan) with 90 points had an option on the 2008 Division 1 title.

Walfridsson, Croon and Eklund all qualified for the 'B' final, with the first two sharing the front row. Eklund was on the second row. Peter Hedström (Ford Fiesta ST), Jokinen and Mats Öhman (Ford Focus) were the other 'B' final qualifiers. Öhman had a brilliant start and lead the final until the last lap when he went into the joker lap.
In the mean time Croon and Walfridsson were battling it out, however Walfridsson wasn't able to overtake Croon. When Öhman left the joker lap he re-joined the main track behind Croon but ahead of Walfridsson resulting in Croon and Öhman moving up to the 'A' final and a seventh place overall for Stig-Olov Walfridsson.
Eklund finished on a 8th place.

With this result, Eklund ends on a 5th place overall in this Swedish championship.

No comments: