27 November, 2007

Per Eklund competes in London Masters Rallycross



World rally legend Per Eklund is competing in the inaugural 2007 London Masters Rallycross
competition, held at ExCel on Saturday and Sunday 8/9 December. A World Rally Championship round winner and former European Rallycross Championship titleholder, Per has been competing in motorsport for around 40 years.

Swedish-born Per began his driving career in 1968 at the Swedish Rally, which he won in 1976. From 1970 to 1979, he was a Saab works driver, using a Saab 99 Turbo before progressing to a Saab 900 Turbo, which he raced in the British round of the 1997 World Championship. During the 70s and 80s, Per was a regular participant in the RAC Rally, competing in a mix of cars including a Toyota Celica, Saab 96 V4 and 99 EMS, and a Lancia Delta, before driving for British Leyland and Audi.

Per started driving in rallycross by winning the first-ever Swedish rallycross event at Hedemora, on 17 October 1971. He drove a Saab 96 V4, then a Saab 99 in its various sporting evolutions. He was always prominent, and became seventh overall and fourth overall respectively in the first and second European Championship series of 1973 and 1974. His greatest successes have been in more modern times, when he won the FIA European Rallycross Championship in 1999 and he remains one of the fastest competitors, finishing eighth in this year's competition.

Race and show organiser Philip Bunn said: "We are thrilled that Per will be competing at the London Masters. His involvement, along with drivers such as Ollie Donovan and 'Mad' Mark
Watson, confirms that this is a major event for the motorsport calendar and as such is attracting major competitors. The final preparations are being made to the circuit, so that we can ensure
that the surface is perfect for a high-performance motorsport competition."

The circuit is a minimum of 14.5 metres wide, with an approximate length of 650 metres. The lap time for a Division 1 car is expected to be between 30 and 35 seconds, with an average speed of approximately 80mph. The circuit has been constructed with fast-flowing corners, featuring two spectacular yumps. With Division 1, Super National, Procar 1600 and 2000, Revivals, Junior Rallycross and Minicross categories, visitors will be on the edge of their seats watching the exhilarating live action.

The London Masters is just one of the exciting features of the 2007 London Motorsport Show,
which covers all disciplines of motorsport – from karting through to Formula One - and is a must for any motor racing enthusiast. Doors open each day from 10.00 and the show closes at 18.30 on Saturday (with the rallycross event finishing at around 20.00) and 15.30 on Sunday. For information and to book tickets, visit http://www.londonmasters.co.uk.

06 November, 2007

Eklund's cars at Rallycross Superprix


The 2007 Jersey Farm Hotel Rallycross Superprix is a rallycross event who took place on November 3rd & 4th at Croft Circuit (near Darlington).
Per Eklund used to participate some years ago with some other Swedish top drivers, but this year he rent his cars to two English drivers: Ollie O'Donnovan who use to drive with his MSA British Rallycross Championship winning Peugeot 306 and Dave Bellerby, who use to drive with a Lotus Exige.

Both drivers made is to the semi finals. Dave Bellerby, who drove the classic Saab 9-3, blew up his engine in his semi final and the team raced against time to fit a new engine, which they did in 35 minutes, only ten minutes too late for him to make the start for the finals.
(c) 2007 by www.erc24.com

For Ollie it went much better. He finished on a nice 4th place in the final. He drove very good with a car he is not used to drive with. Kenneth Hansen won the finals, just in front of
Christopher Evans (Vauxhall Astra) and Kevin Proctor (Ford Puma).

(c) 2007 by www.erc24.com

Superprix Result (6 Laps)

  1. Kenneth HANSEN Citroen C4 4:16.18
  2. Christopher EVANS Vauxhall Astra 4:18.89
  3. Kevin PROCTOR Ford Puma 4:21.49
  4. Ollie O'DONOVAN Saab 9-3 4:24.28
  5. Mike MANNING Ford Escort 4:30.44
  6. Mad Mark WATSON Citroen Xsara 4:35.44
  7. David BINKS Mitsubishi Lancer 4:38.83
  8. Bob GOODING Ford Escort 4:58.49
  9. Tony BARDY Peugeot 306 DNF
  10. Pat DORAN Ford Fiesta DNF
After this event normally ends the season for Per Eklund, but Ollie O´Donovan persuaded Eklund to take part in a rallycross event in Central London on 8-9 December, at the Londen Motor Sport Show, the London Masters!. Ollie will drive with his Peugeot and Eklund with his Saab 9-3 SportSedan. Eklund left his Saab 9-3 in Engeland and he will repair the Saab to be top fit for the race in London. After his, he will travel with his bus and the old Saab back to Arvika and return to England in December.

Björn Berglof/Mike Jager

04 November, 2007

Round 8 BC Croft: Eklund first!

21 October 2007

Croft Circuit - Croft on Tees - England

British Rallycross Drivers Association Rallycross Championship 2007- Round 8

Results Supercar:

  1. Per Eklund, SAAB 9-3 ASS
  2. Dermot Carnegie, Ford Fiesta ST
  3. Kevin Procter, Ford Puma
  4. Andrew Jordan, Ford Focus
  5. Steve Hill, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9
  6. Pat Doran, Ford Fiesta ST
  7. Ollie O'Donovan, Peugeot 306

MSA British Rallycross Championship 2007 - Round 8

Results Superfinal:
  1. Dermot Carnegie, Ford Fiesta ST
  2. Per Eklund, SAAB 9-3 ASS
  3. Andrew Jordan, Ford Focus
  4. Ollie O'Donovan, Peugeot 306
  5. Steve Hill, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9
  6. Andy Grant, Ford Escort RS 2000

Round 7 BC Mondello Park: Eklund 8th

Round 7 of the British Rallycross Rallycross Championship Mondello Park, Ireland

Results Supercar:

  1. Olivier Anne, Citroën C4
  2. Andrew Nesbitt, SAAB 9-3
  3. Tommy Graham, Ford Escort RS 2000
  4. Ollie O'Donovan, Peugeot 306
  5. Andrew Jordan, Ford Focus
  6. Dermot Carnegie, Ford Fiesta ST
  7. George Tracey, MG Metro 6R4
  8. Per Eklund, SAAB 9-3 ASS

Last EC 2007: Eklund again a-final, 6th!

23 September 2007

Results round 10 at Sosnová, Czech Republic

  1. Lars Larsson, Škoda Fabia, 20

  2. Ludvig Hunsbedt, Volvo S40, 17

  3. Andreas Eriksson, Ford Fiesta ST, 15

  4. Pavel Koutný, Ford Focus, 13

  5. Jos Kuypers, Ford Focus ST, 12

  6. Per Eklund, SAAB 9-3 ASS, 11

EC Poland: Eklund 4th!

16 September 2007

Results EC round 9, Słomczyn, Poland.

  1. Lars Larsson Škoda Fabia, 20

  2. Kenneth Hansen, Citroën C4, 17

  3. Andreas Eriksson, Ford Fiesta ST, 15

  4. Per Eklund, SAAB 9-3 ASS, 13

  5. Ludvig Hunsbedt, Volvo S40, 12

  6. Rolf Volland, Škoda Fabia, 11